Keep that work environment clutterless

Ever sat at your desk and realized your work space was a mess and somewhat manages to stay that way? (can even be your computer’s desktop)

I know what it can be like: if I slack just a little, takes less than a week to cover my desk with books, documents, magazines, articles cutouts, unpaid bills, paid bills, computer parts, CDs, DVDs, business cards, ideas scribbled on papers (a lot), unfinished drawings… you get the idea.

Well, here’s nice simple trick :

Don’t try to keep it clean.

Instead, start and finish only one unfinished task, be it an e-mail, a phone call, a text, a tutorial,  something that needs to be thrown away, etc. Then, do the next one.

Keep doing this and I promise you’ll soon see again the top of your desk in no time. I usually reserve 2 hours per day (during the course of the day) to finish stuff, read chapters from books, etc. then I STOP after those 2 hours. The next day, I resume my readings, finish other tasks, continue some tutorials and so on for another 2 hours.

I know if I don’t FINISH tasks one at a time and skip just a few days, I’ll be back swimming in a mess of unfinished stuff.

SUMMARY

Sometimes I say:

“Sorry, I don’t have time for *insert_activity_here* I’ve got too many things to do.”

Indeed I have. But I have “too many things” only when I’m not doing any. And seriously, no one in the world can type two documents at once or read two books at once. So pick ONE task, FINISH it, THEN, do the next one and allocate time to do just that.

As the saying goes, practice makes perfect.!

Enjoy!

Sirus
sirusdark.ca

Write a comment, you will. Yes, yes!

