How to save your Windows Run History!

run_win8.1_001

Hello dear visitors!

Today I thought I’d torture upgrade my laptop with the latest Windows 10 version. You know, that Windows 10 Anniversary Update everyone’s complaining talking about? Click the link if you want to install it today! It’s great! :D

Before upgrading though, I really had to find a way to save my Windows Run history… As most of you may already know, I extensively use Win+R to open like, everything in Windows and upgrading clears the history. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I urge you to read my quick post on how to launch anything from the Run prompt!

RegEdit me!

In just a few clicks, I was able to backup my Run history and after upgrading, restore it back! Here’s how:

  1. If you’ve never played in your Windows registry, always make a backup first.

  2. Go to the key : HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RunMRU

  3. Right-click RunMRU and select export.

That’s it! After you’ve done whatever is it you’ve done, double-click that .reg file you just created and it’ll restore your run history!

Enjoy!

Sirus

References
-https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/12387/windows-10-update-history

P.S.: If you have any specific topics you’d like to see in my upcoming YouTube channel(s), let me know!

Write a comment, you will. Yes, yes!

